a little bit of this, a little bit of that…

It’s been a slow week in the Bush home…funny what I consider slow these days, considering the Bush family will be represented on the soccer fields 5 of the 7 days this week. So it’s not slow so much as not real exciting. The kids are about to go on Fall break which means homework has been light, no last minute projects due…thank goodness, Bill’s been gone for a couple days and I’ve had a lot of time to myself.

You know when you drink your cup of coffee and you realize you blended just the right amount of coffee grounds to water and you poured in the perfect amount of creamer and your coffee never tasted so good…yea, I had that experience this morning, and it was great…now, I just wish I could remember exactly what I did. Anyway, I’m off to read the Words of God and fight for the Joy that we have in Jesus. Wait, did I say fight for the joy we have in Jesus? It doesn’t seem like we should be fighting for it, shouldn’t it be that we just have it? Sadly, I think we as Christians easily fall into the belief that the knowledge of God and the joy we find in Him should be easy to get. We are passive and we expect spiritual things to happen out of nowhere. But we are called to battle, to fight the good fight. God is most glorified when we are most satisfied in Him-John Piper from the book “When I Don’t Desire God, How to Fight for Joy”. But what do I do when I know I should desire God, but I just don’t. It’s the “I want to want to,” syndrome. Good news, we can’t summon up that joy on our own, it can only come from God Himself. And how does God give it to us? He reveals Himself through his written word. The reading, studying, meditating and memorizing of the Bible leads us to complete and lasting joy, because it leads us to Christ and seeing his glory and enjoying his fellowship…

That’s all I got. Wishing a good day to all~

3 responses to “a little bit of this, a little bit of that…

  1. Amen. I’m trying SO hard to encourage the ladies in our Bible study and small group to take the time to just “be” with God on a daily basis. I know from the experience and you do too that it’s very rewarding and brings so much more joy and peace into our lives. It is a battle and for me that battle call wakes me up at 5am! ;o) I’m ready for my nap now….

  2. I agree with you. A relationship with God is just that: a relationship. And I don’t have any relationships of quality that don’t come with a lot of hard work. I tend to think that because God’s all powerful, a relationship with Him should be easy – but He can just take care of everything. But that’s not much of a relationship is it?

    Good post Carrie – you gave me a lot to think about.

  3. The coffee thing — that is my absolute FAVORITE thing EVER EVER EVER…and when its just the right amount of HOT. LOVE it.
    Can I trade you my CRAZY week for your slow one?!?! no? are you sure?!?
    And thanks for the inspiring post…I’m on my way to just be with Him this morning..

Leave a comment